AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

dewormers
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

Russ In Idaho
Posted 9/26/2008 03:58 (#469609 - in reply to #469282)
Subject: RE: dewormers

Yes, that's one of the things I wish I would have learned 20 years ago to do. At this point in life it's easier for me to pay to have it done. Belive me I do know that everything you can do for yourself is going to make you more money in your pocket. I'm a damm good welder / repairman, plumber, electrical , etc. But I don't have all the time in the day to do it all.

I've even have to hire some of my welding jobs out, because I just don't have time to do everything. I would hope that the next generation to take this ranch/farm over can bring those other skills to the table.

Case in point, we have to pull on a avg. two submerisable pumps a month to replace pipe or pumps for stock water. I could justfiy a used derrick rig to pull them. But then what about the warr. on pumps. Unless I have a dealership on pumps and controls. Where would I be? My pumpman has all the pumps we need on hand 24/7. From 1/2 hp. to 7 1/2 hp. pumps. I couldn't start to stock those, plus the warr. starts the day they are retailed sold.

I have a friend that has a big potato farm, he raises the best spuds from Can. to AZ. in my opinion and others. I can drive to his place and buy all of them for 7 dollars a bag. I could never get to raising them like him, he leaves the milk and beef thing to me. We trade products all the time.